Black women DO workout

20 Oct

So many misconceptions surrounding black women. We’re angry, we’re aggressive, we’re emasculating, we don’t know how to keep a man, we’re hyper-sexual, the list goes on.  Most of those stereotypes are negative.  Well one that I want to tackle today is that black women don’t workout. Says who? I know many of my friends that are 5k runners or even half marathon runners, P90x-ers, yoga heads, gym rats, and even swimmers. It’s extremely shallow to believe that we would let a perm interfere with our wellness. I know that is not the case for ALL black women.  If you listened to the media then we’re all running around 250 lbs, eating cornbread, cursing out our baby’s daddy, with our a** towards the sky.  NOT TRUE!

Check out the following blogs that are aimed towards fitness and nutrition written BY black women

 

And these are just the one’s I knew about, I’m sure with a google search there’s more to be found. Ladies, do you work out regularly?? Why or why not?? If you do, what are some exercises that you do?

5 Responses to “Black women DO workout”

  1. Cleo Sunshine October 20, 2010 at 2:15 pm #

    I used to work out several times a week, but not i admit that I do not. It’s not a matter of not wanting to, i frequently blame my schedule, but I know thats just an excuse for lack of discipline. I know that I need to get my head in the game and workout, not just because I want to, but because my health is important and its about time I act like it.

  2. laneeke October 26, 2010 at 1:15 pm #

    I have definitely fallen off in the workout game, but I am slowly getting back on track. I did 3 miles up to 4 times a week up until the past month…that’s GOOD with my hectic schedule. I think I am going to start back swimming though. Swimming laps is my favorite, and now that my asthma is better controlled I think I can work it out better.

  3. Janessa November 14, 2010 at 10:16 pm #

    Love this!

    I am a Caribbean American woman who took back my health from the wretches of Lupus to compete in a fitness event in 2010. I placed 3rd and became a sponsored athlete for Muscleology Sports Nutrition. I blog about it on my site: http://www.BetterFitBody.com. We are few and far between at many fitness events. I was also featured on Madame Noir for having lost so much weight. You can find that article on http://madamenoire.com/3645/bikini-body-diet-tips/ is the link.

    I’m starting my marathon training next week amidst the Thanksgiving and Holiday pre-festivities. It’ll keep me and my appetite in check knowing that there is life after the holidays. I’ll be blogging my 6 months training as well. Thanks for this post. It’s nice to see us talking about fitness.

    • Jess J. November 17, 2010 at 2:24 am #

      Congratulations on your accomplishments!! Its lovely to see women of color so invested in health

  4. murla rogers October 18, 2012 at 9:42 am #

    I dnt know how to stay active..I’m 249.5pounds and 5’5, needless I’m short and round…and I used to workout but now I can’t get started and stay active..after my granny died in 2009 I went into a deep depression now I feel like I’m stuck bc the weight is hard to get offf

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

