OWN your S***

25 Oct

“Realize that although we were ‘victims’ in our childhood, we have been ‘volunteers’ in adulthood.  When we see ourselves as volunteers, we realize we are responsible for our lives, choosing to play our parts.  When we blame others for what we do or what’s happening to us, we’re being victims, stuck in the martyr role.  When I blame, I surrender responsibility for my life, giving up my power over myself.  Then I’m demanding that someone else do something or change so that I can feel better.  When I choose to be responsible, and acknowledge that I am volunteering to be a victim, I reclaim my power and can rechart my own course, controlling my own destiny.”

~Don Haury, “I’m not my fault”

2 Responses to “OWN your S***”

  1. Nicole Stanfield October 26, 2010 at 8:33 pm #

    What’s funny about this post is that as I was reading it, I began to think about how immature it is to not own your faults. This issue is one of the foremost issues considering its election season and every politician in America is playing the blame game. What happened to politics where people mention what they have done and intend to do? Now it’s all about she did/he did this. But anyway, the blame game is one of the most annoying cop outs that adults use. You can also find Tiffany and Marcus in Ms. Williams’ 5th grade class going..he did_ she did_. Let’s grow up America!

  2. Jess J. October 27, 2010 at 2:59 pm #

    I agree, the thing is when someone takes the blame then that would mean we now have to fix the issue. If we just said, who cares who’s fault it is lets fix it we’d get from point A to point B in a much quicker time.

Leave a Reply

