What are you telling yourself?

25 Oct

“You are, after all, what you think.  Your emotions are the slaves to your thoughts, and you are the slave to your emotions.”

~Elizabeth Gilbert~

When you wake up in the morning, what are your first thoughts?  The thoughts that set the tone for your entire day; are they positive? Are they words of thanks, or are they words of dread and despair? When something goes wrong in your day, whose fault is it? Are bad things due to your deficiencies, or is it just a small bump in the road?

The things that we tell ourselves, our inner voice, plays a big role in our everyday lives.  When there is, essentially, an internal surround sound of negativity, it is difficult to feel anyway but negatively.  That, in turn, effects how we treat others, and how we allow ourselves to be treated.  We show others our standards by the way we treat ourselves.  If you treat yourself poorly then you are unconsciously giving other people permission to do the same.  Do you not deserve more?

Be aware of the things that you tell yourself on a daily basis.  Verbally affirm your worth to yourself.  It may sound silly at first, but there is nothing satirical about knowing your worth.   Instead of picking out your flaws, remember what you do well.  Never become slack in telling yourself the good things.

What are some of the things you tell yourself daily? Are you hard on yourself? Do you do affirmations?

4 Responses to “What are you telling yourself?”

  1. Della Wilcox October 25, 2010 at 3:40 pm #

    I’m telling myself that I’m responsibile for my life. I’m telling myself that I’m in control of my own destiny. I’m telling myself that even though I recieved an inadequate education as a child I don’t have to live an inadequate life as an adult. I’m telling myself that I am in charge of who I am and what I choose to be. ” I am beautiful no matter what they say, words can’t bring me down nooo. I am beautiful in every single way, words can’t bring me down. So what you say about me, how you define me doesn’t make me. Only I can define who I am and who I choose to be.

  2. laneeke October 26, 2010 at 1:26 pm #

    I simply tell myself I WILL have a good day and I am the only one who can control my emotions. Then I say a prayer. Sometimes I have devotion. This works for me about 93% of the time, hence why I’m typically in a good mood.

  3. Nicole Stanfield October 26, 2010 at 8:14 pm #

    I tell myself that today is going to be a better day than yesterday. You can make it a better day by being positive throughout the day and exchanging some of the good with others. There are a lot of negative people around me everyday but instead of them rubbing off on me, how bout I rub some of my good onto them? I am a wonderful person that has plenty of friends and family that care about me and hope for the best. I wake up everyday next to man that sometimes cares more about me than I care about myself. I have nothing to complain about. I am strong, smart, and beautiful on the inside and out.

  4. Jess J. October 27, 2010 at 3:02 pm #

    Affirmations are so pivotal! I have all of my clients do them because what we feed ourselves is how how body runs. If you feed it junk then it won’t run well. We must feed ourselves positivity starting with our thoughts, then when the inside is right we need to reflect the in on the out. Another post for another day

Leave a Reply

