Is natural just a fad?

29 Oct

Lately, it seems that everybody is going natural.  The terms “bc” “co-wash” and “transition” are being thrown around in everyday conversation.  YouTube is flooded with how-to videos, and blogs like Naturally CurlyCurly Nikki, and  are staples on many a blogroll.  I can’t help but wonder, is going natural just a fad?

Many of my own friends have made the decision to BC (big chop-to cut off all the chemically relaxed hair in favor of a short fade or TWA-teeny weeny afro) and get to know their own curl pattern, or lack there of.  My question is, why?

Straight-Haired Enemy ???

Why is it that women who have chosen to keep their hair straight and continue with chemical relaxers are now getting the snobbish side-eye from some of the natural curly women? Is “hair” the new “skin-color”?? Have we found another way to separate ourselves instead of embracing all textures and treatments of hair??  I was reading a blog recently, and in it the blogger writes:

Sure, there are lots of ways I could transition [to natural hair] without chopping off my hair or having to style it every day–but I just don’t feel like it. Plain and simple. I’m content with my current routine. I spent four years of college mastering the care and keeping of my relaxed hair and I don’t have the inclination to start all over. When it stops working for me, I’ll try something different. And until then? Stay out of my hair, please (Maybe So, Maybe No).

Do you agree??? Is natural hair the new fad like skinny jeans or is it here to stay?  Is natural hair the *only* healthy hair? How do you feel about perms/weaves/wigs??

6 Responses to “Is natural just a fad?”

  1. laneeke October 29, 2010 at 4:15 pm #

    Going natural very well may be a fad. I definitely don’t have any problems with perms, weaves, or wigs. I have had a perm since I was 4 until this past January or February and then cut it all off in June. I’ve never been a weave/wig girl but everyone is different. Natural hair to me is definitely healthier, but the problem is…everybody ain’t able. Not everyone will do well with the natural hair process. I’m still on the fence about how well I’m going to do, but I’m willing to try and after this past weekend of eliminating the last of the perm, I think I am now headed in a good right direction.

  2. Christina October 29, 2010 at 6:24 pm #

    I am about healthy hair. If you have a relaxer, color treated or natural hair, just make sure it is healthy and makes you happy. Wigs, weaves, pieces all are ways to make doing hair easier or even to hide flaws that as an individual, you are not completely satisfied about. No one is better than the next because of the type of hair texture they choose to have or what they choose to do to their hair.

    Technology has come a long way and I think these advances, especially in the ethnic hair has allowed us the opportunity to do more with our hair in its natural state.

    This will come (natural hair phase) and go as some may feel that they are not happy with the consistency and move on to the next BIG THING. We had the large “Afros” in the 70’s, which were a symbol of pride in the African American culture in America. This can be overbearing to some and contained a lot of upkeep, like any other fad. Then in the 80’s we had “Jheri Curl” which completely destroyed the hair and was not as easy to maintain. I still know people to day that have a Jheri Curl. After that, there have been many more that have come and gone and some are slowly starting to resurface thanks to some celebrities and friends in your neighbor hood.

    The point is fads come and go but a person has a right to choose the way they want to go and what works best for them and their particular lifestyle. Maybe people will realize health hair is the best no matter which state you hair is in.

  3. Della Wilcox October 29, 2010 at 6:46 pm #

    Natural may be a fad for many but I’ve been during natural since I was a freshman in highschool. That’s been over 30 years ago now. I’ve never understood why African American’s spent so much money on chemicals. The amount of money we spend on hair and nails, could equal up to a pretty nice house with a nice car to boot; both paid in full. We deprive ourselves of so many things because of our obession with our hair, like swimming. What’s more refreshing than a dip in a pool or ocean or lake or river. Of course that experience could never be possible if one continues to be a slave to the hair industry. For me, natural til the day I die.

  4. TangledHairTechs October 31, 2010 at 12:37 am #

    People may think that natural hair is just a fad, but these days “Good Hair” is only for those who have a full head of natural hair-no matter what their hair texture is.

    If women don’t go back to natual hair, they are going to start balding faster than men. The over processing of chemically treated hair combined with weave hair glue is tearing our hair and scalps apart-literally!!!

  5. Brownbelle October 31, 2010 at 11:40 pm #

    Thanks for the link love. Even though my hair is relaxed, I hope natural isn’t just a fad. I’m happy that black women are more well equipped to rock their natural hair and that they’re happy about it. However, I don’t appreciate the backlash against relaxers that has come with it. It reminds me of the negative reactions a curvy/plus size (read: FAT) gal embraces her size and how people hide their disdain & disgust of big people behind the smokescreen of being concerned about their health, because of course all skinny people are automatically healthy right? Hmph.

    The point is, the health of my hair or body has nothing to do with anyone else! We all know that many women’s self esteem is as tied up in their hair as in their bodies. Could it be that the natural girls who are fanatical about spreading the Hair Gospel diss perms because they still aren’t happy with their hair? Some might say I’ve been “brainwashed” by European beauty ideals but it takes more than a haircut to undo a lifetime’s worth of conditioning. Just something to think about.

  6. JustAGuy November 2, 2010 at 7:25 pm #

    No other ethnic group seems as ubiquitously dependent on the hairdresser as American black women. As a man, I find it terribly unsexy when artificiality become’s a NEED.

    Natural black hair is sexy. I hope it’s not a fad.

Leave a Reply

