The problem with the gays

2 Nov

…is there one? YES! The problem is the nonacceptance of the GLBT lifestyle within our community.  I imagine this is one of those hot-topics that many people will simply have to agree to disagree on, but hear me out.  It is going to take more than just the GLBT community to overturn laws that affect them, just like it took more than the Black community to overturn laws that restricted us.

A lot of people disagree with the homosexual lifestyle citing religious reasons, but does the book not say, “Judge not, lest ye too be judged?” If we believe that God makes no mistakes, then how can we continue to condemn an entire subculture of people?

I’m sure many of you have heard of the recent string of suicides committed by gay adolescents.  This is extreme, but it is not uncommon for GLBT youth to be affected by the leading causes of suicide: depression, anxiety, and stress.  In speaking with a friend of mine who is a lesbian about the stress of just being herself she noted, “Coming out isn’t easy by any means, but once you’re out it is so relieving. You spend sometime crying, missing lost friends, scared of what tomorrow brings, denying, accepting, denying again.. repeat. And then eventually, you just smile and realize that coming out the closet is the biggest most influential thing tht you could have ever done.  The worl is a cruel world. I’ve seen it. I’ve been called named, harassed, verbally beaten, and damn near physically beaten for being who I am. Yeah, the world sucks. But I refuse to make it cruel on myself.” I also recently did an interview for class with two members of the GLBT community, and it surprised me the different struggles that came even after being out: internalized homophobia, family acceptance vs. tolerance, but perhaps the most poignant was spirituality.  Reconciling their own beliefs in God or any higher power with the condemning propaganda our society throws at them.  I was really appalled.  How can so-called-Christians sell hatred?

I find it exhausting to hold hate in my heart for any reason, so I can only imagine the homophobics…makes me think of that Jewels song, “Do you hate him, ’cause he’s pieces of you?” This is the first of a few posts because its a big topic and I want to explore many different sides of it.

What are your thoughts on GLBT and their current treatment in society?

2 Responses to “The problem with the gays”

  1. KaNisa November 2, 2010 at 2:26 pm #

    Oh oops should have posted my other comment here…lol..

  2. Not Bad For A Lady November 19, 2010 at 2:26 am #

    Thanks Jess. I think you are exactly right when you said, “it will take more than the gays.” I believe that it will take more than the gays, because many of us have given up hope, because it is taking so long for people to see that.

    Hell, I often feel like I’m getting beaten up in broad daylight and not a single person helps me, they just “stand there and watch me burn, that is alright because I like the way it hurts. Just gonna stand there and watch me cry. That’s alright…”

    So we hide, our natural animal instinct to go straight cameo in order to survive.
    I battled suicide and cutting for a long time in middle and high school,. In college, I stopped cutting myself after I passed out for one cut too deep. (I woke up alone on my floor because I’d had a seizure).

    For a 14 year old LESBIAN, that was without family to initially fall back on and no friends going through the same thing, I was tired. All the taunting, the name calling, the bullying, the bullying, the bullying.
    I don’t think that I got it any easier or harder than a gay male. A homo is a homo, right.

    As far as religion, well, I don’t pinpoint any one event on why I’m not a big fan of church services and church. maybe enlightenment. I no longer consider myself a single religion, I consider myself infinite possibilities. I realized somewhere between the sky and a pool of blood and numerous self inflicted wounds that my body wasn’t ready to die. Because if you only knew… All the things I’d done since realizing I was a lesbian at 9 yrs old, you would agree that I should be dead. Ironically, what saved me from suicide ( not depression, that wasn’t until junior year of college) was the play “For Colored Girls” and I don’t mean the Tyler Perry movie, I mean the theatricAl two feet away stage production. I saw it when I was 15.

    For a lesbian considering suicide when I felt god and his people had given up on me, the words “I found God in myself and I loved him, I loved him deeply.” saved my life.

    SO, I try to tell the closeted young girls and boys the same thing. Find God in yourself, and love deeply.

Leave a Reply

