Living your truth

8 Nov

A rather brilliant thought came to me one day sitting in a staff meeting. “Until I know who I am, I cannot answer another question.”  I cannot decide the people in my life, I cannot decide my life’s course, my career, not even the clothes that I wear.  We must know who we are.

Be careful what you pretend to be because you are what you pretend to be. ~Kurt Vonnegut

You cannot escape yourself.  Even in the most impressive cases of impersonation you are at best yourself as a rather convincing someone else.  I believe there comes a time in every woman’s life when she begins to questions her motives.  When she looks at the life that she has created for herself, reflects on it, and passes a judgement.  Is this the life you meant to lead, or are you neck-deep in the wrong decisions?

The unexamined life is not worth living.~ Socrates

Is it ever too late to make a good decision? NO! The second you realize its wrong for you, stop doing it and turn yourself around.  Are you not worth living for? Last night KeKe Palmer said, “The difference between you and I is that I know I’m special-you are too you just don’t know it yet.”  The moment you get an inkling, a smidget, even the slightest hint as to how much you’re worth, believe it.  Then dig deeper.  And never stop digging.

And as we let our own light shine, we unconsciously give other people permission to do the same. As we are liberated from our own fear, our presence automatically liberates others. ~Marianne Williamson

You wouldn’t believe the amount of people who look to you as an inspiration, or as motivation once you begin to shine.  You literally become a beacon of light in a room of darkness-as its likely that the people you were around prior to living your truth were also mask-wearers.  It is my belief that this is the core of the whole natural hair “movement.”  Women are becoming okay with this part of themselves.  Accepting that this [nappy/curly/tangled mess] is who I am.  The beautiful thing is, when you accept yourself, other people will begin to as well.  Those that don’t will fall to the waste side, never stop praying for them or hoping the best for them.  When you live and walk in the joy of self-truth you don’t get caught up in grudge holding or hatred.  It is true that self-love is the first love.

i found god in myself & i loved her / i loved her fiercely. ~Ntozake Shange

 

One Response to “Living your truth”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Let your light shine « Miss Lucy's Blog - November 8, 2010

    […] the post for yourself and share it with your best girlfriends. Happy […]

Leave a Reply

