S.A.D.?

13 Dec

Wish we all felt this happy about snow!

What is S.A.D?

Seasonal affective disorder (SAD) is a form of depression that occurs in relation to the seasons, most commonly beginning in winter.

  • Afternoon slumps with decreased energy and concentration
  • Carbohydrate cravings
  • Decreased interest in work or other activities
  • Depression that starts in fall or winter
  • Increased appetite with weight gain
  • Increased sleep and excessive daytime sleepiness
  • Lack of energy
  • Slow, sluggish, lethargic movement
  • Social withdrawal (Google Health)

I bring this to the attention of you ladies, because perhaps during the year your depression (diagnosed or undiagnosed) seems manageable but then when the cold weather hits, the sun goes bye-bye, and it seems that our mood plummets.  Winter can make it hard.  SAD is not necessarily limited to winter, but in my experience it is most commonly diagnosed in colder months.  Not to mention the treatments (solar lamps, hormone regulation, and body temperature increases) all hint at natural warm-weather occurances.

With so many social obligations in the winter months (there is a holiday every single month until from October to April!) it can be hard to tell if your energy is low and there’s something really wrong, or if all the socializing is just wearing you thin.  Look at how you normally are during this time of year and see if you feel any different.  Think about what your behavior has been in the months leading up to winter.  Is there a stark difference?

Have you noticed that winter “cheer” is harder to come by?  Have you ever heard of SAD?

One Response to “S.A.D.?”

  1. GG December 15, 2010 at 4:25 pm #

    I prepare myself for the possible effects of SAD every year. Darkness and cold are triggers for me. I make my house as cozy and bright as possible and I also avoid putting myself in overwhelming situations with my schedule where I’m constantly on the go. I try to focus on the things I love about the cold weather like family time during the holidays, warm blankets and cuddling up, hot apple cider, etc.

    I imagine that there are tons of people who feel the effects of SAD and don’t realize it.

Leave a Reply

