Happiness is free

21 Apr

The answer to your sh*t is not more sh*t. That’s about as clear as I could get my message to the average American. All my social commentary “dirt” was kicked up when I read this post over at Peace Love and Pretty Things this morning:

Our culture is hungry for spirituality. We are beginning to understand that consumerism isn’t going to fill the emptiness inside. We can cover it up, dress it up, or ignore it, but at some point we have to address it: the things of this world are unsatisfying. Children grow up. Spouses and loved ones disappoint. Cars lose value. A chair is just a chair, and a house is not a home.

We yearn for something deeper. We yearn for something more substantive. We yearn for that which can only be whispered, never fully known. We yearn for God (Source…and to continue reading this WONDERFUL article)

Incidentally after I read this article and I was all stirred my mind went immediately to Kanye West.  I really and truly believe he is an artistic genius.  Anyway, in his song “All Falls Down” he states the following truth:

We buy our way out of jail, but we can’t buy freedom
We’ll buy a lot of clothes when we don’t really need em
Things we buy to cover up what’s inside
Cause they make us hate ourself and love they wealth
That’s why shortys hollering “where the ballas’ at?”
Drug dealer buy Jordans, crackhead buy crack
And a white man get paid off of all of that
But I ain’t even gon act holier than thou
Cause fuck it, I went to Jacob with 25 thou
Before I had a house and I’d do it again
Cause I wanna be on 106 and Park pushing a Benz
I wanna act ballerific like it’s all terrific
I got a couple past due bills, I won’t get specific
I got a problem with spending before I get it
We all self conscious I’m just the first to admit it

The conclusion I came to is that in my lifetime, if I do nothing else I want to spread the gospel that happiness is free, and it is (as I’ve been told) an inside job.  I don’t blame white people, sorry Ye, I blame all of us. We have all succumbed to the hypnotic trend of materialism and mediocrity.  No one wants to stand out, and every one wants to be great, tell me how you achieve one without the other? We are in the middle of a great spiritual war.  The “catastrophe”  that is predicted in the Mayan calendar says that in 2012 the world will endure an Apocalypse. I hope it does. Apocalypse means the veil will be lifted, literally.  Please God, let the veil be lifted and let people begin to honor the divinity within us instead of worshiping the faux deity of materialism.  I hope 2012 brings about an exorcism.  Anything for people to just wake up, be present, and not be fearful of our own greatness.  THAT is happiness.

Leave a Reply

